How long does it take for rigor mortis to kick in?

Rigor initially can be determined in the small muscle groups such as in the hands and face, rigor can take hold within 3 to 4 h and normally extends across the large muscle groups also within the first 12 h after death, causing the entire body to become stiff. Certain environmental factors apply.