How do you soften hard peach?

Simply place the peaches in a brown paper bag, loosely roll the top closed, and leave at room temperature. The total time for ripening varies, and largely depends on just how firm the peaches are when starting, but it's safe to plan on a day or two. Check the peaches after about 24 hours.