How hard is rock?

The hardness of rocks and minerals is measured on the Mohs scale, with values ranging from 1 for softest to 10 for hardest. Talc is a very soft mineral that is a 1 on the Mohs scale, while diamonds are very hard and rate a 10 on the Mohs scale.