Is lemony snicket real?

Daniel Handler, pen name Lemony Snicket, (born February 28, 1970, San Francisco, California, U.S.), American author best known for his A Series of Unfortunate Events, a 13-book collection of unhappy morality tales for older children that was published between 1999 and 2006.