What birthstone is sapphire?

September's Birthstone is Sapphire.

---

The sapphire, birthstone for September, is a relative of July's birthstone, the ruby. Like ruby, it is a form of the mineral corundum, a normally drab gray mineral. Red corundum is called ruby, while all other gem quality forms of corundum are called sapphires.

---

The sapphire is the birthstone for September.