What's the difference between a splinter and a sliver?

A splinter is two or more pieces of a hard material, such as wood, used to bind broken bones in such a fashion that they will grow together in normal form. A sliver is a piece of foreign material that pierces skin and, unless removed, can cause its surroundings to become infected.