How do you tell if a pokemon card is first edition?

Typically a first edition pokemon card will have the FIRST EDITION stamp (a 1 in a black circle with EDITION printed around the top of the circle), immediately to the left of the type and size information. Trainer cards would have the symbol near the bottom edge.