How long does asparagus need to cook?

Put slightly salted water in a pot, to just cover asparagus. Bring water to boil, lower heat to medium low, then simmer for 3 to 6 minutes, until soft and tender. Remove remaining water, and add a few tablespoons of olive oil, and garlic or garlic powder. Saute for another 1 to 2 minutes, and serve.