How is vodka made?

Vodka may be distilled from any starch or sugar-rich plant matter; most vodka today is produced from grains such as sorghum, corn, rye or wheat. ... Some vodkas are made from potatoes, molasses, soybeans, grapes, rice, sugar beets and sometimes even byproducts of oil refining or wood pulp processing

---

Most commonly vodka is made from grain such as wheat or rye which is combined with water and heat, and then yeast is added to ferment. Once the sugars are converted into alcohol the vodka is heated, distilled, and filtered repeatedly until it reaches an alcohol content of 40%.