What does the name cinder mean?

"Cinder" normally describes a piece of wood or coal of wood that is smoldering in a fire. In times past, American Indians and other peoples, "cinders" were carried in a wooden enclosure of reeds or other materials to "carry" fire from one location to another to make starting a new fire quicker.