What's the difference between freezing rain and hail?

Both are made of ice. In freezing rain or sleet, individual rain drops are frozen solid. To form hail, a strong updraft is required. Frozen rain drops are blown upward allowing them to collect additional layers of frozen water, reaching up to 8 inches in size. When large enough, they fall.