What's the difference between freezing rain and hail?

Hail stones are much larger than sleet pellets and can cause damage to crops, windshields, people, etc. Sleet is caused by rain falling into a cold layer of air aloft which has to be below freezing. Freezing rain causes the most hazardous driving and walking conditions.