Does the earth go around the sun or does the sun go around the earth?

Earth revolves around the sun. A complete orbit around the Sun takes about 365.26 days. The orbit of planet Earth is not a perfect circle but instead travels in an oval-shaped ellipse. The Earth is slightly closer to the Sun in early January and farther away in the month of July.