How much weight can a cat carry?

Let's assume a 12 lbs cat can pull at most 25% of its own weight (this isn't just related to friction; it has to be able to pull while maintaining a 15 mph gait). So that's 4 lbs of pull per cat and we need to overcome 34.5 lbs of resistance, so we need at least 9 cats.