What does the name smoky mean?

smokey/ variant of smoky. sometimes short for Smokey Bear "state policeman," 1974, from truckers' slang, in reference to the wide-brim style of hat worn by state troopers (the hats so called by 1969). Ultimately, dressed in forest ranger gear ( a hat like those later worn by state troopers). in 1944