What happened on mount everest in nineteen ninety six?

On May 10-11, 1996, eight people died in their efforts to descend Mt Everest in a blizzard, including experience mountain climbers Scott Fischer and Rob Hall. You can learn more about the disaster from Jon Krakauer's book "Into Thin Air."