What does it mean to go rogue?

To go rogue means to begin behaving in an erratic, possibly dangerous way that defies or runs contrary to the established expectations of a group or source of authority.

---

"Going rogue" typically means leaving behind the conventional rules and norms of an organization or society to pursue either its goals or one's own goals by some other means outside of that group's rules. Frequently going rogue is associated with illegal activity.