How do you light a portal in minecraft?

The Nether portal can be lit with any form of fire using flint and steel, fire from lava, or a fire charge. The end portal is lit by eye of enders placed in the end frame. Place two planks on one side of the portal with lava which will light the wooden planks. That fire activates the nether portal