What is the song ring around the rosy about?

the “ring-a-round the rosie” referred to a red circular rash common in some forms of plague. The posies would have represented the different flowers and herbs people carried to ward off disease. The “ashes” and falling down was supposed to mimic sneezing and eventually dying from the disease.