What is an aquanet?

Aqua Net is a hair spray brand notable for its popularity and for its marketing strategy, which aimed to make hair spray "as ubiquitous as soap". The brand is known for its distinctive large purple spray cans, and the spray itself is known for its strong hold and distinctive smell.