Why do they call it a wishbone?

When Etruscans slaughtered a chicken, they would leave the furcula in the sun to dry out, preserving it in hopes of gaining some of its divining powers. Villagers would then pick it up and gently stroke it while making a wish--giving it the more common name, the wishbone