How hard is it to become an astronaut?

The agency's basic requirements are a bachelor's degree in engineering, biological science, physical science, computer science or math, followed by 3 years of professional experience (or 1,000 hours of pilot-in-command time in jet aircraft). Candidates also must pass NASA's astronaut physical exam.