Who is the spider in lord of the rings?

Shelob is a fictional demon in the form of a giant spider from J. R. R. Tolkien's Middle-earth legendarium. She appears at the end of the fourth book, second volume (The Two Towers), of The Lord of the Rings. Her lair lies in Cirith Ungol ("the pass of the spider") leading into Mordor.