How does altitude affect water boiling?

Water boils at lower temperatures at higher altitudes. At sea level, water boils at 100 °C, which is around 212 °F. For every 150 meter, or 500 foot increase in elevation, water's boiling point is lowered by approximately 0.5 °C.