Why did dove cameron change her name?

After her father's death, she changed her name to Dove, dedicated to him because he would call her his Dove.

---

The actress was born Chloe Celeste Hosterman, but decided to legally change it when she got into acting. She explained that "Dove" was actually a nickname her dad, Philip Hosterman, used to call her.