How do you boil shrimp for shrimp cocktail?

Peel and devein shrimp. Fill pot with water ¾ of the way and bring to a boil. Add shrimp. Cook until done, about 2-3 minutes depending on size. They are done when the tails curl. Separate shrimp from shells and place on ice. Chill until ready to serve