Why does a brachiosaurus have a long neck?

Brontosaurus used its long neck to get to leaves out of reach of other herbivores looking for food. Or perhaps they were able to sweep their long necks over a large area of lower vegetation to feed efficiently without having to move too much.

---

The dinosaur's long neck would have enabled it to reach tall conifer trees and stay in one spot while it ate, since moving such a huge body expended a lot of energy.