Where do piggy banks come from?

During The Middle Ages, in about 15th century, metal was expensive and seldom used for household wares. Instead, dishes and pots were made of an economical clay called "PYGG". Whenever people could save an extra coin, they dropped it into these. They called this their pygg bank or their piggy bank.