What is the history of the poinsettia?

Along with Christmas trees, the poinsettia is commonly thought of when one thinks of holiday plants for December. It was introduced to the United States in 1828, when the first American ambassador to Mexico, Joel Roberts Poinsett, noticed the fiery red plants flourishing in Taxco.