What does madison mean?

The name Madison is a girl's name of English origin meaning "son of Matthew". Madison originated as an English surname, a variant of Mathieson, meaning "son of Matthew." It is occasionally translated as "son of Maud," as Maddy was historically a nickname for Maud.