What is the difference between the ocean and the sea?

The two are often used interchangeably but that is technically wrong. The difference between an ocean and a sea has to do with size and proximity to land. The 5 oceans are actually 1 interconnected body of water. In comparison, there are over 50 seas, smaller and each partially surrounded by land.