What is mass times acceleration?

Mass is the quantity of inertia (resistance to acceleration) possessed by an object, or the proportion between force and acceleration referred to in Newton's Second Law of Motion (force equals mass times acceleration). The more mass an object has, the more force it takes to get it moving.