What's a chinese apple?

Malus prunifolia, a species in the apple genus (Malus) native to China, used in breeding and sometimes cultivated for its fruit. Or, Punica granatum (pomegranate) sometimes called Chinese apple in British English. Or Syzygium luehmannii (riberry) sometimes called Chinese apple in Australian English.