What was world war two all about?

World War II, also called Second World War, conflict that involved virtually every part of the world during the years 1939–45. between Axis powers: Germany, Italy, and Japan—and the Allies: France, Great Britain, the United States, the Soviet Union, and, to a lesser extent, China.