What causes someone to sneeze?

The function of sneezing is to expel mucus containing irritants from the nasal cavity. A sneeze, or sternutation, is a semi-autonomous, convulsive expulsion of air from the lungs through the nose and mouth, usually caused by foreign particles irritating the nasal mucosa.