What's the origin of the phrase heavens to betsy?

It may have originated sometime between the years 1850 and 1914. Heavens to Betsy is another variation of the phrase for Heaven's sake, which began as a euphemism for what some considered the blasphemous for God's sake and for Christ's sake. So Heavens to Betsy would not be blasphemous.