What's the difference between a gear and a cog?

In the strict sense, a "cog" is a tooth on a wheel. A cogwheel is any wheel with teeth. A gear is a cogwheel meshed with another cogwheel. And a sprocket is a cogwheel that links to another cogwheel by means of a chain.