Why was andrew johnson impeached?

President Andrew Johnson was impeached for "high crimes and misdemeanors." Nine of the articles of impeachment were because he removed Edwin Stanton as the Secretary of War, which violated the "Tenure of Office Act". Although President Johnson was impeached, the Senate acquitted him.

---

The main official reason Andrew Johnson was impeached was due to his violation of a tenure in office law which he was charged with breaking when he fired his Secretary of War, Edward Stanton.

---

The impeachment of President Andrew Johnson was the result of political conflict & the rupture of ideologies in the aftermath of the Civil War. The Tenure of Office Act, passed over Johnson's veto in 1867, stated that a president could not dismiss appointed officials without the consent of Congress.

---

The impeachment of President Andrew Johnson was the result of political conflict and the rupture of ideologies in the aftermath of the American Civil War on how President Lincoln's plan of Reconstruction. Johnson supported the plan that called for lenient readmission of Southern States.