Who created the detective adam dalgliesh?

Adam Dalgliesh is a fictional character who has been the protagonist of fourteen mystery novels by P. D. James; the first being James's 1962 novel Cover Her Face. He also appears in the two novels featuring James' other detective, Cordelia Gray.