What does the placenta do?

The placenta is the interface between the mother and fetus in placental mammals. It it the conduit for providing oxygen and nutrition to the fetus and removing waste.

---

The placenta is an organ that develops in your uterus during pregnancy. This structure provides oxygen and nutrients to the growing baby and removes waste products from the baby's blood. The placenta attaches to the wall of the uterus, and the baby's umbilical cord arises from it