Why are they called french fries?

Because the French and Belgians call them pomme frites. Which means fried potatoes.

---

In 1802, Thomas Jefferson had the White House chef, a Frenchman, prepare “potatoes served in the French manner” for a dinner party. He described these as “Potatoes deep-fried while raw, in small cuttings”. This is one of the earliest references to fried potato strips being referred to as “French”.