Why do dogs have snow?

Some dogs hate snow because it blankets the world and suppresses the smells the dog uses to orient itself. Some dogs hate snow because it's sharp on their pads. Some dogs hate sinking into snowdrifts. There are as many reasons as there are dogs who hate snow.