Why do you wear your wedding band on your left hand?

The wedding ring is traditionally (especially in the US) worn on the left hand due to the belief, traced back to the Romans, that the vein in the ring finger (the fourth finger) on the left hand ran directly to one's heart. This vein was called the "vena amoris" or vein of love.