What is the legend of the dreamcatcher?

The Dreamcatcher is a legend of the Lakota Sioux. Dreamcatchers are hung above their beds or in their homes to sift their dreams and visions. Good dreams are captured in the web of life and carried with them but, the evil dreams escape through the center's hole and are no longer part of them.