How did the planets get their names?

The planets visible with unaided eye including Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter and Saturn were named based on Roman and Greek mythology. Afterwards, this pattern was adopted for other discoveries including Uranus, Neptune and Pluto. Earth, however, gets its name from the Germanic language.