How long does it take to dethaw turkey?

According to Butterball, cold water thawing a turkey is faster than refrigerator thawing. Place your turkey, in its unopened wrapper, breast down in a sink filled with cold tap water. Change the water every 30 minutes to keep surface of turkey cold. Thawing time is about 30 minutes per pound.