Do squirrels get periods?

Unlike humans who go through a menstrual cycle that includes a monthly ovulation period, squirrels go through a period called "estrus." Estrus is a reproductive cycle that animals like dogs and cats experience, during which their bodies ovulate and they become highly receptive to mating.