When are bartlett pears ripe?

Bartlett is considered a summer pear, not as tolerant of cold as some varieties

---

The Yellow Bartlett's skin transforms from green to yellow as it ripens, and the Red Bartlett ripens from a dark red to a brilliant red as it becomes sweeter and juicier during the ripening process. To check for ripeness, apply gentle pressure to the neck, or stem end, of the pear with your thumb.