What makes the sunset pink?

At sunset, light travels a longer path to the Earth's surface than it does in the middle of the day. As a result, more of the sun's blue light is scattered away because its shorter wavelengths are more affected by molecules in the air. This allows more red light to reach the Earth's surface.