What happened to iron man in endgame?

In Avengers Endgame, Tony Stark, Iron Man, sacrifices himself to keep the villainous Thanos from destroying the universe. In his final moment, he says his iconic words, “I am Iron Man" a final time, snaps his fingers to instead kill Thanos and his army and gets fatally injured in the process.