What was the goal of the anaconda plan during the civil war?

The Anaconda Plan aimed to block Confederate ports, cut off supply lines and split the Confederacy in two, during the American Civil War. Union General Winfield Scott proposed a naval blockade and advance along the Mississippi River. It was a key part of the Union's strategy to win the war.